Accredited HEI’s - General Teaching Council NI

Accredited HEI’s

There are four Higher Education Institutions in Northern Ireland that deliver ITE programmes which are accredited by GTCNI:

  • Queens University Belfast;
  • Ulster University;
  • St Mary’s University College;
  • Stranmillis University College.

These HEI’s offer a range of ITE programmes – and you can choose between qualifying in early years, primary or post–primary (secondary) education and a range of subject specialisms, includes maths, science, technology and the arts.

All the ITE programmes delivered by HEIs in Northern Ireland are based on the GTCNI teaching competences.

GTCNI accredits the Northern Irish HEI Initial Teacher Education Programmes on a rolling basis by assessing how well the academic programme, school placement programme and student support prepare graduates to start their journey as professional teachers.

This site uses cookies for general analytics but not for advertising purposes. View our privacy policy to find out more. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.