Governance - General Teaching Council NI


The Council is the corporate body responsible for how the GTCNI operates and delivers its statutory remit and the objectives set out in its annual Business Plan and Corporate Strategy.

The 2018–19 Business Plan has been set by the Council and agreed with the Department of Education. 

GTCNI Business Plan 2018–19

The Council has endorsed a new Corporate Governance Framework setting out its oversight role, standing orders and Code of Conduct.

Corporate Governance Framework

The Council includes:

  • 14 elected teachers;
  • 5 teachers appointed by the Northern Ireland Teachers’ Council;
  • 10 appointed from key educational stakeholders; and
  • 4 Department of Education ministerial appointments including 1 representative of industry and commerce and 3 reflect the wider public interest.

All members of Council serve a four year term and the Chair of Council and Vice Chair are elected by the Council.

Council membership (2019 – 2023)

Elected Members

Nursery School representative

  • Sonia McGowan

Special School representative

  • Julian Morgan 

Primary School Teacher representatives

  • Stuart Bill
  • Ciara Duffy
  • Shaunagh Lambe
  • Lisa Magennis
  • Catriona Mullan

Secondary School Teacher representatives

  • Dr David Baxter
  • Siobhan McElhinney
  • Brendan Morgan
  • Susan Parlour
  • Keith Smith

Primary School Principal representative

  • Dr Graham Gault

Secondary School Principal representative

  • Fiona Kane

Appointed Members

Northern Ireland Teachers’ Council

  • Raymond Beggs
  • Emma Loughridge
  • John Kelly
  • TBC
  • Gordon White

Education Authority

  • Áine Andrews
  • John Unsworth

Council for Catholic Maintained Schools

  • Shirley McKenna
  • Paul O’Doherty

Comhairle na Gaelscolaiochta

  • Maria Thomasson

Governing Bodies Association

  • Mary Lou Winchborne

Northern Ireland Council for Integrated Education

  • Cliodhna Scott–Wills

Transferor Representatives’ Council

  • John Wilkinson

Trustees of Catholic Maintained Schools

  • Martin Cromie

Universities Council for the Education of Teachers

  • Dr Martin Hagan

Department of Education

  • Paul Boyle
  • Maria Mullally
  • Vacant
  • Vacant

This site uses cookies for general analytics but not for advertising purposes. View our privacy policy to find out more. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.